Kansas City’s Patrick Mahomes, Cincinnati’s Joe Burrow, Philadelphia’s Jalen Hurts, Buffalo’s Josh Allen, and Minnesota’s Justin Jefferson are the five finalists for this year’s AP MVP.

Mahomes, who is currently the frontrunner, was named PFT’s MVP earlier this month. Mahomes received 49 of the 50 first-place votes for the AP’s All-Pro team, and led the league with a career-high 5,250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns in his fifth season as a starter. He also completed a career-high 67.1 percent of his passes and finished with a 105.2 passer rating.

In his third season, Burrow has been outstanding — completing 68.3 percent of his passes for 4,475 yards with 35 touchdowns and 12 interceptions, earning a 100.8 passer rating.  Burrows led Cincinnati to consecutive division titles for the first time since 1981 and 1982.

The Eagles have gone 14-1 this season with with Hurts in the starting lineup. Hurts passed for 3,701 yards with 22 touchdowns and six picks while also rushing for 760 yards with 13 touchdowns.

While the Bills were just eliminated the post-season, Allen led Buffalo to win the AFC East with the league’s No. 2 offense. He threw for 4,283 yards with 35 touchdowns and 14 interceptions.

In his third season, receiver Jefferson elevated the play of quarterback Kirk Cousins, finishing the regular season with the league lead in receptions (128) and receiving yards (1,809).

A nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league completed voting before the start of the playoffs. The AP MVP and other winners will be announced during NFL Honors on Feb. 9.

Editorial credit: Jamie Lamor Thompson /

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>